Many cities are facing serious housing problems. what are the causes and what measurews can government take

The vast majority of cities experience considerable housing problems. This issue is largely attributed to rapid urbanisation and the investment appeal, causing a severe lack of housing. Nevertheless, a range of practical legislative proposals can mitigate this problem.

One of the compelling reasons why cities face housing-related issues is the high rate of urbanisation. Due to the economic and social benefits of urban spaces, individuals regularly leave small towns and the countryside. This not only exacerbates the shortage of accommodation, but also leads to a dramatic rise of rental costs alone with property prices. Another contributing factor is the investment attractiveness. For example, should investors massively purchase properties in metropolises with the aim of renting it, the average price of accommodation will significantly grow. Therefore,

To address this problem, measures should be done on the governmental level. To begin with, the state should increase the taxes on those who own several accommodations, making it unprofitable for investors to rent out and decreasing the average cost of houses. Furthermore, not only should the authorities provide financial subsidies for young families, but also introduce targeted incentives for essential workers, such as doctors or teachers. Such measures would alleviate the financial burden, promoting social equity for purchasing houses. Therefore, through such targeted financial support, governments can ensure long-term stability and prevent social displacement in major cities.

To conclude, the problem of housing stems from the combination of investment appeal and an increasing rate of urban development. However, by the implementation of additional taxes and governmental programs, this problem can be mitigated.