many cities are facing severe traffic congestion. what are the main causes of this problem?

Nowadays, many cities are witnessing intense traffic congestion. This essay will discuss the main causes of heavy traffics in cities, including over population and inappropriate infrastructure of cities.

One of the primary causes of traffic congestion, is over population. The number of citizens are growing in urban environments. If each family owns a private car, the number of private vehicles will significantly increase in general. Recent studies in Indonesia, which is one of the most populated countries, suggest that, nearly 60% of peak hours is due to the high number of vehicles.

In addition, poor infrastructure, is another problem, prompting traffic congestion, which should be addressed. Many streets are not designed for high volume of traffics, particularly, in populated and urban regions. For instance, due to lack of parking lots, people have to park their cars in streets leading to narrow the streets. This, shows how inefficient infrastructure, can negatively affect the traffic flow.

In conclusion, major cities are overwhelming traffic congestion. This essay discussed how traffic in some cities is often caused by high population and poor infrastructure.