Many cities are now implementing '15-minute city' concepts, where all essential services are within a short walk or bike ride from home. Do the advantages of this urban planning approach outweigh the disadvantages?

Despite some may believe that 15-minute neighboorhoods’ disadvantages outweight the vantages, it’s actually not true. The concept of 15-minute neighboorhoods allow a helthier and eco-friendly lifestyle while also covering daily and urgent needs of residents.

’15-minute neighboorhood’ is a concept that indicates that all daily necessities are withing walking distance of residents of different cities. The idea is to allow citizens with urgent necessities or the wish to transport themselves by foot to fulfill all their needs without the use of any other moda of transportation than simply walking. The eco-friendliness of the proposal lies with the decrease in the use of fuel and the production of toxic gases in the environment while also promoting a healthier lifestyle, with more physical exercise and less use of automobiles for short distance transportation. This mean of transportation is used in many countries around the worls, with focus on South America, Asia and many European countries. As a Brazilian woman, this is a natural part of my daily-life and urban experience.

It may be uncomfortable for people that are not used of walking in their daily lives, but the proposal does not include the prohibition of using cars, bikes and any other mean of transportation. The idea of using walking as a mean of transport does not bring any big disadvantage, since the free will of citizens are respected and the increase of physical exercises does not bring any excessive backgroud noise or disruption of the resident areas. The impact of the advantages is clearly bigger than any disadvantage this plan might bring to any citizen.

In conclusion, although it might be uncomfortable on the first contact with this urban plan, it’s heavily implemented in many countries around the world. The advantages as a long time proposal are extremely positive for both the environment and public health.