Many cities are now implementing '15-minute city' concepts, where all essential services are within a short walk or bike ride from home. Do the advantages of this urban planning approach outweigh the disadvantages?

The idea of the city with short commute time, and the possibility to have everything important within walking distance is becoming widespread. Yet it sounds convenient and has obvious benefits, there is a room for some disadvantages. For instance, costs of the realisation and the impossibility to arrange it for particular facilities. Nonetheless, I think that the weight of the advantages is still higher. This essay examines both sides of the matter.

To begin with, as it was mentioned above, the concept of ’15-minute city’ has a range of pros, such as positive ecological effect, personal well-being, and development of local communities. It is clear that by implementing the idea the governments would be able to decrease an amout of pollution and make places less contaminated. There is no need in using motor vehicles and gasoline when you can easily walk to your destination or simply take a ride by bicycle. Moreover, it makes individuals healthier and encourages them move, having the positive impact and raising awareness of sports. The nessecity of the required cafes, gyms, shops, and every other business gives the space for building and maitining local communities, which is also extremely useful.

Despite the benefits, enabling this concept in real life is much easier said than done. Not every city is suitable for such changes. It depends on the historical appearance of the place that is planned to rebuild and its structure. In several cases it would require to readjust too much details, such as streets, for examples. It makes the process difficult and expensive. Moreover, not everything could be that flexible. For example, it is nearly impossible to implement univerities and specialised hospitals it each area.

It conclusion, the concept of convenient and walkable cities is mostly idealised and not suits every situation. Although it would make the life in a such city pleasant and benefitial, the building process requires a lot of attantion and resources that need to be wisely allocated. However, in my opinion the pros of the idea outweigh the cons.