Many cities are replacing traditional local markets with large, automated supermarkets. Why is this trend occurring? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

At the present time, an increasing amount of cities are switching from traditional local markets to large, automated supermarkets. This essay will discuss one main driving force behind this replacement and the main reason why i believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Firstly, it is reasonable that the driving force behind this is the advancement of technology in the last 2 decades. Technology has shaped the society into a more modern civilization, the advancement of this spread among people and company. With large, automated markets, its high tech machine and a great service make the customer feel exclusive rather than walking in a local market where it is really humid and noisy and a bad service. For instance, no customer would want to shop in a wet market or a humid market. People has adapt to the world advancement and are mostly not used to shopping in the local market. They need something that make them feel like home with a sense of security. This is why the local are swapping to a supermarket instead of a local market.

Eventhough local market is something that express a city culture, it still doesn’t change the fact that supermarket offers more good products, good service with high sense of security. Crime rates in a supermarket is very low compare to the local market. This lead to more cities replacing local market with supermarket in order to earn its reputation and money for the city.

In conclusion, supermarket is more convenient and safe for the local and people around there. This is why I believe that replacing the local market help the cities more.