Many cities around the world are experiencing rapid growth. This has led to serious environmental problems and rising prices in accommodation as well as living expenses. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve these problems?

Most cities around the world are seeing rapid growth, which leads to problems related to the environment and rising living prices. This essay will analyze several possible causes and propose some efficient measures to tackle these issues.

The first reason is air pollution. Overpopulation in cities results in many vehicles being used to serve their daily needs. However, CO2 emissions from these vehicles cause air pollution in these places. Hanoi City is an example of the above problem. Many individuals have used the Gastroline motorbikes and cars, which are their primary vehicles for transportation. The smoke of the transports spread on the road, which leads to this city becoming the most air-polluted location in Vietnam. Similarly, housing prices and living expenses are the second issue. The high cost of living is due to housing demand exceeding supply. For instance, in Hanoi City, the average cost of each room in an apartment is 300 million VND per square meter, which is a high price for the people in Vietnam who have medium to low income.

Although the above problems are affecting the living environment and daily life, all of these issues have solutions. With air pollution, the government promotes each individual to use greener energy and public transportation, which deal with toxic emissions. Singapore, which is an example that proves it, is the cleanest nation in Southeast Asia due to its efficient mass transit. Additionally, with the second problem, which was mentioned in the above paragraph, the government should expand affordable housing policy for low-income individuals. This method is still being applied in Hanoi and is actually very effective. However, it is just a short-term solution. In the long-term, the government should relocate universities, factories, and hospitals for surburs which reduce population in cities. For instance, the FPT University has built in Lang Hoa Lac High-Tech Park, that is the suburbs of Hanoi.

In conclusion, environmental issues and rising housing costs have been impacting social life, but there are feasible measures to address them. In my opinion, the government should work rigorously in the areas of the environment and living conditions to make every city a livable city.