Many city centres these days have traffic flow problems, causing congestion and pollution. One solution is to build fast ring roads on the outskirts of a city, taking traffic away from the centre. While this is helpful in some ways, it also causes new problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, traffic circulation in cities has become a major issue, causing congestion and pollution. The development of fast ring roads outside the city centres could be a possible solution with surely some slight upgrades, but actually this is only carrying the trouble to the outskirts, rising other much worse effects.

Focusing now on the positive aspects of this decision, certainly ring roads could be helpful in the reduction of traffic flow and then making easier the access to the city centres. Today, more and more people find a job in cities, but perhaps living far away from metropolises arises the necessity to travel by car due to long distances. Furthermore, the construction of these architectures should help to avoid car accidents: many newspapers often reported a major number of accidents in centres.

However, the disadvantages are much more. At first, the realization of this kind of roads would break out a growth in chemical and noise pollution in the surrounding areas, beyond the fact that green and urban areas dedicated to walking or doing outdoor sports would vanish. Nothing more than in this period climate change has become a serious risk for the next generations and reducing so much natural areas could be catastrophic for the future. Moreover, costs in terms of time and money for this operation should be considered: the realisation of these streets could take many years and money could be invested in solving other pressing problems in society.

Summarizing, ring roads could manage congestion and pollution in cities as well as car accidents and availability, but aren’t the best idea: environment and costs are more important, beyond the fact that more pollution would be present in the outskirts. In addition, in order to deal with this problem should be kept an eye on alternative and healtier choices as upgrading public transport networks.