Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages of this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Some businesses gain publicity by financially supporting sports events, which is approved by some and frowned upon by others. I side with those who believe that this is highly negative as adverts are a major distraction from sport itself.

Sponsorship of sports events is good for business as this can be an effective marketing tool. As a result of such promotion, sponsors gain improved brand image which increases their revenue. This is because the increased exposure to customers makes a brand more visible, thus, recognized by many and preferred to others, leading to growth in sales of goods promoted during sports events. The primary beneficiaries appear to be sponsors who gain market visibility, whereas the events themselves often struggle with financial sustainability despite heavy commercialization.

Many argue that advertisements detract from the sports experience by overwhelming both players and viewers. There are commercials shown almost continually when advertisements appear every time the game stops. As a consequence, fans can consume more than three hours of ads during a three-hour game, sometimes even forgetting how the game develops or who scored. Another distractor is electronic advertising boards along the sidelines of soccer pitches, which are not only bright but also animated, are highly distracting. All this overwhelms players and spectators, detracting them from the experience of playing or watching the games.

In conclusion, promoting business through sponsoring sports events is negative as such exposure to advertisements is a major distraction from sport itself, which cannot be compared to any commercial benefits that sponsors gain.