Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages of this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Opinions are divided on whether a lot of companies aim to advertise their products and brands by sponsoring sports. Although there are the abundance of benefits for the world of sports, I believe that they both are at disadvantage of two-sided reputation and especially in the enterprise’s finance.

Admittedly, many sports events and players can benefit from company’s investment. Firstly, players can focus on their sport instead of worrying about finance. For example, they are provided with free equipment which is really prohibitive for them. Therefore, they are more likely to be quickly successful because they only concentrate on their goal and are not distracted by surrounding features. However, I think this is not the best merit for players. Because when being sponsored, they have more responsibilities besides their reputation. Thus, they need to make more attempt to practice every day, which can affect to their health such as being injured and not having proper practicing schedules.

Personally, I think this is not the best way for both sports player and investor. One reason is that the companies which provide a lot of money to sports for promoting their brands without speculating considerably would face the financial difficulty. Because if the player is unsuccessful, it will affect product sales. Another reason is that the company’s reputation and the player’s will be tightly linked together. Therefore, the company will be affected if the player uses drugs or misbehaves during competitions and vice verse.

In conclusion, althought both sports events and players can give plenty of benefits when sponsored, there are many disadvantages involving reputation and finance. I think it will better if the sports companies invest directly to sports events and other companies focusing remaining areas advertise their products through communicative events for seeking collaborations and attracting local customers.