Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages of this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

In the rapid growth of the economic world, business competition becomes more intense and advertisement by providing sport sponsors is one of the crucial ways to boost their reputation. While it can promote the development of the sports industry, many people believe that it may lead to some disadvantages. This essay will discuss both views before analysing my viewpoint which prefers the former.

The disadvantage of sponsoring sport in many businesses can be explained for some reasons. Most businesses use sponsor strategy to improve their fame by investing in some famous athletes. When they put a huge amount of money into athletes’ influence to advertise their products, it may lead to negative commercialisation in sports. For instance, if the athletes spend much of their time advertising the companies, logos and advertisements will appear everywhere. Fans may feel the companies care more about selling products than supporting sports. Then, people who love sports can be disappointed and sport players can receive negative comments. As a result, this problems can affect the business and the qualifications of the athletes. In addition, sponsoring for publicity products can also make sports become a tool for advertisement instead of expressing the benefits of it.

On the other hand, I believe that companies participating in sponsorship activities will bring more benefits than drawbacks. Firstly, it provides a huge budget on sports events through the advertisement of famous athletes. It can attract more attendance from sport lovers so many sports clubs, organizers can afford high requirements of quality facilities. Therefore, businesses not only get a high budget from advertising but also have money for training sport players and they can improve their performance and be able to sit in high competition in the future. So, sponsoring sport events can make a balanced benefit for both businesses and athletes. Moreover, sports sponsorship can encourage people to take part in some sports to improve their health. With the influence of the sport players, young people can be interested in sports. When they are inspired by some athletes, they can create an active lifestyle which can protect them from diseases and help them to be more active in society.

In conclusion, although sponsor sports may have some negative effects, I believe that its advantages are far more significant. It provides essential support for athletes to promote their experiments and also encourages more people to join in sports.