Some people think increasing the cost of fuel is the best way to solve global environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument about whether increased cost of fuel would be an effective approach for tackling current global environmental problems or no. While admitting the fact that high fuel costs may reduce the amount of unnecessary fuel consumption, I believe that it is far from being the most efficient solution because it does not address the root causes of the problem and requires technological innovation as well as government policies.

Increased fuel costs, undeniably, can mitigate the problem: fewer people will use fuel due to its high prices. An enormous amount of emissions is released to the atmosphere daily. Petrol-powered cars, planes and other vehicles contaminate the air regularly owing to the affordability and accessibility of fuel. Thus, it is believed that high costs will probably deter people from using fuel and encourage them to switch to other more eco-friendly alternatives. However, it cannot fully address the issue as there are many wealthy individuals who can afford costly fuel.

Therefore, a far broader approach is required.

Technological advancements would be a better solution as they are more reliable in terms of efficiency. To explain, the development of electric cars and biofuels is more likely to tackle the environmental degradation directly, without creating financial burden for people. For instance, many developed countries are focused on technological innovation, which in turn, reduced the number of traditionally powered cars on roads. Implementing stricter regulations on the use of fuel is another effective measure to take in order to solve the ecological issues. Once stricter limits are imposed on fuel consumption, people will use it less. Consequently, not only is this sort of approach effective but it is also long-lasting.

In conclusion, in spite of possible benefits of increased costs such as reduced dependency on fossil fuels and more environmentally conscious choices, I’m convinced that technological development and government regulations are more practical and effective.