Some people think increasing the cost of fuel is the best way to solve global environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some consider that raising the price of fuel is the best solution to address the ecological issues. While there are some benefits of this situation, I am more inclined to believe that it has more drawbacks and it might cause some other problems, such as systematic inequality.

From a critical point of view, increasing the cost of fuel may be harmful for individuals. If governments increase fuel costs to reduce environmental problems, they may damage systematic equality among their populations. For example, due to high prices, low-income or poor drivers may lose their job, thereby struggling to make ends meet or provide their families financially. In a world where individuals earn money to meet their daily demands, increasing the cost of fuel may be one of the most terrible ways.

However, the benefits of raising the fuel prices also should be taken into account. When fuel costs are more expensive than usual, more and more individuals might get rid of their private transports, which encourage them to use public transports, such as buses, trams, and trains.The fact is that it leads to reduction of pollution in the environment. A good case in point can be seen in Japan, where most individuals use public transports instead of private ones. Therefore, the atmosphere is clean and there are no a massive amount of toxic gas emissions.

In conclusion, although there are some benefits of increasing the cost of fuel, I still recognize its drawbacks associated with losing jobs of drivers and face financial problems.