In many countries, people's eating habits are leading to obesity and other health problems. Why do so many people have unhealthy eating habits? What is the most effective way to help people improve their eating habits?

In many countries, unhealthy eating habits have become a major problem for public health which is leading to obesity and various chronic diseases. There may be two main reasons for this phenomenon, such as busy lifestyles as well as a lack of nutrition education in their lives. The most effective solution is to improve public health through education while nutrition food is needed.

One of the primary reasons for unhealthy eating is busy lifestyle. Many people have busy work schedules and limited time to prepare home-cooked meals. As a result, they often rely on fast food or street food such as burgers, chicken curry, fried rice with several colors of souses and unhealthy drinks like lemonade which are convenient but usually contain an amount of salt, sugar and unhealthy fats. Another contributing factor is marketing convenience food, especially to target children and young adults. In addition, sometimes attractive advertisements, discounts, and variety of junk food encourage people to choose unhealthy options over nutritious ones.

The most effective way to improve people’s eating habits through education support by government policy. Schools should teach children to choose nutrient-dense diet in their regular food menu such as rice, fish, chicken, fruits (mango, banana, apple). In addition, government should launch nationwide awareness and rules to motivate people who always love to choose health benefit foods which help them to maintain health literacy and save them any kind of pandemic outbreak. These educational policies help people to stop getting sick and give psychological well-being. When people are both informed and provided healthier choices, they are likely to make better dietary lifestyle.

In conclusion, unhealthy eating habits are mainly caused by busy lifestyle and promotion of unhealthy food. Although several measures can help and educate the public about nutrition, with government policies that make people to choose healthy eating habits and reduce obesity.