Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

People prefer to purchase products that are locally made rather than foreign ones. I believe this is a positive trend because of the support community based businesses receive and gives satisfaction that products materials are trustworthy.

First, patronizing a local organization helps maintain the functionality of the company. This is possible through the sales and income made from their goods. A sense of accomplishment of the business mission and vision will be felt thereby increasing productivity. Also, an enterprise that knows the community is interested in their services will create employment opportunities to individuals in the area to strengthen the relationship they have with their produce. For instance, an employee of a milk producing organization will ensure her household drinks only the milk.

Furthermore, one is certain that the goods in the environment are made from healthy and common ingredients other than the imported ones that are preserved with unknown substances. Cancer is one of the leading causes of death globally; as much as the cause is unknown, food choices have been researched to be a contributing factor. Most foods outsourced outside the society contain carcinogenic substances because of the methods of preservation. An example is fruit stored in certain containers with carbonated water; if there is a delay in consuming while still fresh, it could be consumed rotten unaware because of the preservative.

In conclusion, I agree that buying goods manufactured in the community is a positive trend. This allows producers to get appreciated for their innovation, serve the society and also promotes growth at large in the country.