Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays more and more people are worried about large corporates occupying the market shares that once belonged to local companies. It is becoming a trend for people to support local businesses through buying locally produced goods. I believe this is generally a positive trend as it benefits local economy, promotes healthy competition, and improves community pride. Here’s some reasons why consumers are increasing their favor in locally produced goods.

To begin with, buying local products is one of the best ways to support regional economy. Through purchasing such products, consumers are supporing the manufactoring industry in their region. Producing goods locally can boost the number of employment in the areaand employment is the main contributor to an increased consumer demand. Not only does this benefit the single company in which consumers purchase their products, but the whole economy thrives on getting support from their local consumers.

Furthermore, through buying local products, consumers can help their regional companies to be more productive and competitive in the larger national and global market. With revenues generated by comsumers, companies can reinvest into research and development, and thus improving their product quality and competitiveness in the bigger market. An example of this is the Korean vehicle industry, Korean consumers largely favor local products initially due to national pride and price factors. Through their support, now Korea is one of the major vehicle exporters.

Overall, buying local goods bring multiple benefits to the economy and society of that region or country. This is a highly positive trend as comsumers are choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area rather than relying on imports.