Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages of this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Sports sponsorship done by companies often spark debate over whether it is beneficial versus harmful for their reputation and sports. This essay will examine both perspectives before presenting my opinion.

There are various factors that contribute to the belief that sports sponsorship should be given by companies. Firstly, this plays as a fruitful financial support to sports, creating more opportunities for players and organizers. Spotify, for example, has been a pioneer in sports sponsorship in diverse football matches worldwide, providing football kit and other amenities to the tournament. In other words, these funds and resources dedicated by firms cultivate a strong financial foundation of sports. Additionally, receiving sponsorship also means that sports promotion may be effectively operated. Public transports and advertisements, which illustrate sports teams and players’ posters and images, may be visible for residents including both sports enthusiasts and non-fan. These marketing strategies aim to increase sports reputation, being long-term advantageous for sports.

In contrast, sports sponsorship is risky for several reasons. Advocates to this view contend that it compromises the integrity of sports. Sports may be commercialized by the production of teams and players’ goods, which is not consistently being the right purpose of sponsorship. As a result, consumers tend to purchase without any knowledge of either the companies or the sports teams, merely because of its profitable values. Furthermore, some corporations may take the advantages of sports to promote their unhealthy products such as cigarettes, beers and wines. Eventually, this unsuitable advertising way may extremely tarnish sports and players’ reputation.

In conclusion, while sports sponsorship creates wealthy opportunities in finance and promotion, the drawbacks of it should not be ignored. Personally, I assume that the government should be responsible for the control of this issue, leading to a more transparent and entertaining sports community.