Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweight the disadantages?

Economic development is an important policy for many countries to enhance living standard of their people. Sometime, this modernization brings changes to our societies. In my opinion, it is more important to increase money in pockets and this policy impacts long term nation development.

Economic development directly stimulate people’s living standard. It allows national resources to be distributed across countries and people receive benefits in form of publics services. For example, Singapore is a country which struggled poverty problem when they founded their country. With a good planning, the government established financial hub and invested a lot of money on the foundation of facilities. Now, this country is known as the safest place and the best education system in the world. This vision of Singapore is an evidence that shows the importance of economic development to our quality of lives.

On the other hand, modernization brings the disappearing of national custom. After people have more affordability, they tend to change their lifestyles to be more comfortable and may abandon their way of lives. For instance, Before the industrialization in Thailand, people used to follow agricultural tradition which everyone relied on farming and cattle. After that, people have adopted modern lifestyles and immigrated to downtowns. Nowadays, many customs are fading from the society. But, the people’s lifestyles always changes overtime. When the society change, following the trend helps people to live in the contemporary situation.

In conclusion, although this development brings the loss of many valuable customs, the benefits of financial improvement is more important than its drawbacks. Since, the good quality of lives is a long impact of economic development which evidences in the case of Singapore, while, society values follow the progress of societies.