Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweight the disadantages?

In my opinion, I disagree the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages.

First of all, economic development inevitably brings harm to the environment. Taking China as an example, the government kept trying yo achieve a high GDP growth rate in recent decade. Within 10 years, their economic growth rate rise surprisingly from 0.37 to over 1.5, showcasing their effort on boosting their economic. However, there was also a backlash when they focused too much on their financial development. People living in Beijing, capital of China, complaint about the air pollution issue caused by the factories.Report also showed that they patients suffering respiration disease reached a new high, accumulated ten thousand people. The data significantly shows that developing a society without considering balances between environment and economic is definitely not a wise plan. It brings harm to human health and destroys the environment. Not to mention, the impact on polluting wildlife is untraceable. It will takes 1000 years to recover the planet. Therefore, the government should think twice before developing their economic.

Another point of view, some people suggests the development of economic increases the income of the citizens, which allowing them to live a better life. Undoubtedly, with more income, citizens have choices to enjoy a luxurious life. For example, Hong Kong is a city with high GDP , people who lives there also earn a high salary, top 10 income among other countries. However, study also shows that their happiness index ranks the lowest when comparing with other cities. Even though the people is living with a high income level , they are not satisfied with their lives. Their living standard turns out is much lower than the countries with low GDP. With the above case, living standard is not only about economic but also satisfaction of life. The government should also take it as an consideration when developing the society.

To conclude, focusing too much on economic growth will definitely brings harm to environment and health of the citizens. It is also not a direct way to boost the happiness of the citizens, which is not helpful to uprise their living standard. Therefore, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.