Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweight the disadantages?

Since the beginning of time, the race to achieve a strong economy has been an integral part of every country in our world. However, certain downfalls to this development may impact our culture and traditions; but I strongly believe that a rising economy produces a healthy and self sufficient community.

Firstly, a developed economy provides a stable healthcare system; which is extremely important for our society as reduces the mortality rate. For instance, in Malaysia, all women post delivery or marriage are advised to have Pap smear done in government facilities, and it is free to all Malaysians. As a result, cervical carcinoma can be prevented and treated early. Additionally, with a well developed healthcare facility, will be able to educate the community to carry out a healthy lifestyle and provide free healthcare to ensure society is free from diseases.

Secondly, a strong economy contributes to a highly educated community. As a result, the majority of people will be among the working class, able to support themselves and their family. This tremendously reduces poverty. For example, in the United Kingdom, most of their population are earning and are able to sustain themselves, due to their wide rage of job oppourtunities. However in some countries, they believe a rising economy leads to a modernised community, causing the traditions and cultures to be lost, but this is preventable by ensuring schools and parents educate their children about the culture and traditions.

In conclusion, a better economy clearly outweighs the disadvantages. Thus, I firmly believe the advancement of economy, not only benefits the country, but also our society, to become a safe and independent community.