Many countries are experiencing a decline in volunteerism. Some argue that mandatory community service for high school students offers a solution. Does making such service compulsory bring more advantages than disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of encouraging volunteer has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that mandatory volunteering is helpful for social development, while others argue it is not a good trend. I think although there are some disadvantages to mandatory volunteerism, these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, those who claim that mandatory volunteering has a negative impact on community do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that unwilling volunteering can lead to bad results since they don’t engage in volunteering sincerely. To be more specific, individuals who do not really enjoy volunteering might think it is a waste of time. They are less likely to participate in the activity actively and this can reduce the overall quality of community projects.

On the other hand, I think that the benefits of mandatory volunteering are more significant. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that volunteerism provide labor force. To exemplify, the more individuals engage in volunteering, the more people can contribute to the development of society with their hard work. Another convincing reason is that volunteering sometimes gives people a chance to interact with others. In other words, people can meet a wide range of people through volunteering and spend time with others. As a result, individuals can feel a strong sense of satisfaction as they help social advancements, also they can improve their social skills through group volunteering.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to mandatory volunteerism, but these are outweighed by the benefits.