Many countries are experiencing an increasing shortage of skilled workers in technical fields. Some suggest that promoting vocational training from a young age is the best solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures could be taken?

Nowadays, several countries endures lack of specialists in technical fields. Therefore, some individuals believe that providing vocational training from a young age will change it. Usually, due to belief that those trainings will encourage teenagers to follow technical directions from the very age, and therefore supposed to cut the shortage of skilled specialists in technical fields. From my perspective, early vocational training will not affect suffiency of skilled workers, due to the possibility of meaningless training for the young generation, that might not choose technical fields as their future direction.

On the one hand, ensuring that future technical specialists will outshadow current insufficiency, by teaching them from their adolscence is reasonable. Providing young generation with vocational training is one of the methods to encourage future employees to pursue techincal fields as their paths. For instance, Canadian IT company provided free vocational trainings for the students of STEM directed schools. As a result, in the next few years the insufficiency of skilled engineers in the company decreased gradually.

On the other hand, it is extremely rare case to find a high-school student who is confident in his chose of future major. Therefore, providing vaguely specialized, expensive trainings can lead to a waste of money. As it is the case for the Chinese mechanical engineering company, which provided free vocational trainings to the kids who shared their interests in this field. As a result, after a brief of time most of the students changed their mind about their profession.

To sum up, while providing trainings to young generation is intricate way of dealing with shortage of technical specialists. From my perspective, it is substantial risk due to the possibility of meaningless training after spending an enormous amount of money.