Many countries are now promoting 'digital nomad' visas, aimed at attracting remote workers and their income. Do the advantages of countries implementing these visas outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, a trend called ” digital nomads ” is becming popular in some countries, whose choice to reside for a period of time. While some people are of the opinion that local economy will get benefit from these visitors, the others hold the belief that they may affect negatively to local housing and culture. In my opinion, this trend bring more pros and cons to our society, which will be discussed below.

On the one hand, the choice to be a digital nomad promote local economy in many ways. This is mainly due to the fact that some nomads work in travelling and marketing, so they will recomend the others to pay a visit to the site, which can enhance the local’s tourism value. For instance, many digital nomads choose Nha Trang as an attraction in their route, which signicantly enhance the local economy by using locl services. Besides, digital nomads can contribute to our econmy without the need for a fixed workplace. In this day and age, in some big cities worldwide, there is a shortage of land for offices, so this trend can effectively tackle this issue. For instance, about 20% of undergraduates and experienced workforce choose this way of working as an alternative for traditional office as the rare of land in metropolis.

On the other hand, the phenomenon so-called digital nomads also poses threat on the local management and the youth’ awareness. As digital nomads usually travel by individual vehicles, there is some difficulties in residental management. This could be explained by the fact that digital nomads don’t have to hand in their route to the local council for management purpose, so it is difficult to identify them if there are some injuries. Moreover, some teenager hold the dream of being a digital nomad in spite of their health or econimic availibility. Being a digital nomads requires good health, an economical plan an a sum of money as an insurance, which somebody can not afford.

In conclusion, although the trend of being a digital nomads brings economic profits to local economy, this also make difficulties in resiental management and can affect negatively to some unsuitable youngster.