Many countries now have people from different cultures and ethnic groups. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is common phenomenon that many countries now have many people from different cultures and ethnic groups. Several factors can account for the phenomenon, and I think it is more positive development despite some negative influences.

The situation has historical reasons. In detail, massive immigration occurred due to global colonialism. For example, Britain used to control and take over America which was originally owned by Indians and tremendous number of people moved to America. Furthermore, since many colonies did not have enough infrastructure, there was high demand in labor force, which led people to spread to other countries to seek new opportunities.

From my point of view, this development has benefits and side-effects at the same time. One of the most obvious advantages is that different people can bring different cultures and multiculturalism boosts cultural integration, which is beneficial to smooth cultural barriers and discrimination toward specific races. In addition, countries with various cultures have broader talent pools which can be a cornerstone of innovation. For instance, United States, where the wealthiest country in the world, thanks to its multiculturalism, many gifted people want to immigrate to pursue their dreams. However, cultural assimilation can arise because constant interaction with different cultures can change people’s perspectives. During this process, minor cultures can be naturally removed as time goes by. Additionally, conflict between ethnic groups cannot be ignored. For example, people who believe in Muslim regard pork as food taboo while others don’t.

Historical factors are unchangeable, and the trend of globalization is irreversible. Cultural diversification is positive to a large extent, but we also need to solve problems caused by cultural differences to make the better world.