Many countries raise fuel prices in order to deal successfully with problems pertaining to traffic and pollution. What effects do you think this move can have? What other measures do you think can be taken to reduce traffic and pollution?

In recent decades, environmental degradation has emerged as a grave issue worldwide. Many have proposed the idea of fuel cost escalation to curb the alarming issue of the ecosystem. However, I largely disagree with this suggestion because of several reasons.

On one hand, this strategy of authorities might prove to be fruitful in certain poverty-stricken areas of countries that are either underdeveloped or developing. In other words, because per-capita income is low among populations in such nations, therefore people might not up-keep private transportation with high fuel prices, consequently plunging the pollution. For instance, in past year, war resulted in inflation of gasoline as well as diesel that resulted sudden shift from private to public transport for people of Pakistan and even Bangladesh.

On the contrary, this policy is most likely to be flawed. Since strong and well-developed countries such as USA have stronger financial foundations, hence this will make no difference in their lifestyle. As a result, the inhabitants would continue to enjoy the privilege of private vehicles as the increased prices can be paid readily. Apart from this, if the prices for fuel shoot up, then instead of reduction in ecosystem related problems, the prices of good requiring transportation will accelerate.

Another important measure to combat the environmental issue is to introduce different approaches. A law “Odd-even” regulated in capital of India, which ensured far smaller number of vehicles on road compared to past, had contributed positively alleviating gases released from the private transportation. What else can be recommended for offsetting the carbon-emission? Government should rather ban the old engines and support electric vehicles, than promoting increased prices of fuel. Besides these solutions, banning plastic and afforestation can also assist in maintaining ecological balance.

To recapitulate, although soaring cost of carbon-based products may hinder the access of public to private transportation, yet there are number of solutions that a administration bodies can adapt apart from this to mitigate such pressing concern of ecosystem of planet.