Many countries want to host international sports events such as the Olympics and SEA Games, while other countries think that hosting these kinds of events has more disadvantages than advantages. Discuss both views and give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Many nations eager to hold international sports event like the Olympic or SEA Games, while some people argue that being the host country for such events has more drawbacks than merits. In this essay, both perspectives will be discussed and I strongly believe that even though having opportunities to experience such enormous sports event in a country could be a milestone of its life, there are several disadvantages of that events.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why the government is interested in this event. One of the biggest reasons is the economic growth. If there is an international sports competition, it attracts the large number of tourists to visit host country. This would result in benefitting tourism related field such as hotels, transportation services, restaurants, and local businesses. Furthermore, the authorities can encourage its citizen to pay attention to their physical and mental well-being. If they have a chance to see the professional competitions that would somehow pay attention to maintain their well-being.

On the other hand, holding such events can be a financial burden for the country itself. Governments have to spent heavily on stadiums, security and accommodation to house from international athletes. Many countries spent billions of dollar on construction leading to increasing public debt. In some cases, newly built stadiums become underused or abandoned after the events, resulting in wasted resources. Moreover, hosting these events can cause social problems, such as the displacement of local residents and rising living costs, which can mainly affect low-income communities. In my opinion, the government can allocate these event funds to more vital areas in the country such as healthcare and education.

In conclusion, although hosting international events can bring certain economic benefits and individuals’ wellbeing . I firmly believe that there are many other area the governments can spend money to be more beneficial to its people rather than this international sport events.