Many countries want to host international sports events such as the Olympics and SEA Games, while other countries think that hosting these kinds of events has more disadvantages than advantages. Discuss both views and give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is true that many nationals want to become hosts of major events, while others think that being the host of major tournaments brings both drawbacks and benefits. While there is strength to becoming a host of sports events, I am of the opinion that being the host will bring more demerits.

On the one hand, the idea of becoming a host is beneficial due to economic development. For instance, organizing the Olympic Games requires the construction and renovation of sports facilities, which can create job opportunities for labor. Additionally, international visitors contribute significantly to the host country’s economy through their spending on accommodation, transportation, and souvenirs.

On the other hand, countries with limited economic resources cannot meet the costs of infrastructure construction, which leads to a financial burden for that country, even leading to national debt. Furthermore, many sports facilities built specifically for sporting events are often unused after the competition. This leads to the waste of resources. A negative aspect of this situation is the risk of chaos and security on the grounds of uncontrolled influxes of travelers to the hosting areas. Another downside of these mass gathering events is the risk of disease transmission in the host regions. This is attributed to a large quantity of visitors who might carry pathogens, coming from different areas.

In conclusion, while there is a drawback regarding becoming the host of sports events, I still believe that careful consideration must be given to a country’s specific circumstances, particularly those that are less developed.