Many criminals commit more crime as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the couses of this? What possible solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience (at least 250 words)

It is a well-known fact that many criminals engage in more criminal activities after they get released from jail. In my personal opinion, there could be a myriad of reasons for the convicts to involve themselves in committing such crimes. However, I believe that the government and society should take necessary measures to deter criminals from attempting crimes.

Firstly, there are a plethora of reasons that encourage the offenders to commit crimes again. The predominant one may be unemployment, as criminal background drastically reduces employment opportunities. Most employers would refuse to recruit them for their past criminal records. As a result, they remain jobless. Secondly, these lawbreakers do not get emotional support from their families, resulting in them being homeless. In addition, society doesn’t accept criminals to live with them as they fear that youngsters may get influenced, and even if they reside in their communities, society treats them suspiciously. All these facets lead the ex-criminal to rejoin the bad company and become involved in illicit activities. Hence, these criminals proceed to commit unlawful activities to earn their livelihood.

But, there are possible solutions to reduce the criminal tendencies that will also help the offenders avoid indulging in illegal activities. The government can intervene and introduce schemes that will provide financial assistance and employment opportunities to the culprits after their punishment gets over. The government can also implement any rehabilitation program for the lawbreakers in prison to recoup. Furthermore, the government can conduct counselling sessions with a therapist who would help these criminals build their social lives. Additionally, people should change their mentality and outlook against the culprits and convicts and provide them with immense emotional and moral support.

To sum up, although countless factors motivate the lawbreakers to commit crimes again, I believe that the government and society should take the responsibility to divert convicts’ minds from attempting further crimes.