Many developing countries place a lot of importance on tourism. Why is this? Do you think that this is a positive or negative development?

Developing countries are doing their best to expand their tourist industry more than ever before. Strengthening country’s economy is what makes it happen, and I believe this benefits economy, which pulls the overall balance in favor of advantages of this development.

The primary reason why improvement is happening in tourist industry is its huge and quick advantage for the economy of the country. In fact, tourism, unlike other fields such as infrastructure which are requiring huge investment, facilitates revenue within short period, making it substential for the economy. When tourists come to a particular city, businesses should hire additional labor force to meet the demand. Thus, citizens will be in benefit getting stable income. Subsequently, those employees will spend money to buy something in markets, which help small businesses to thrive. This, in turn increase amount of tax assembeled, supporting the government financially. In Kazakhstan, for example, financial state of the city has significantly increased due to expenditure in tourism industry.

Additionally, it is positive trend because of the benefits for the citizens themselves. After the huge amount of tax has collected, it directly benefits maintenance of historical buildings as well as roads. If the roads are safe enough for driving and appealing buildings are not vanishing, this will facilitate good standarts of living for people, making individuals satisfied with their existance. For instance, in Uzbekistan, people there now are happy with their conditions of living, but it was not similar a few decades ago.

To conclude, economical benefits attracting developing countries and this is exactly why they are expanding tourist industry. Personally, I believe it is positive development as it not only strengthens economy, but also facilitating better living conditions for individuals.