Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. what are the advantages and disadvantages of children playing computer games?

The rising trend of computer games amongst children has sparked a considerable debate regarding its impacts. While some people are of the opinion that video gaming imposes several benefits for kids, I firmly contend that it appears to be rather adverse phenomenon. This essay will present arguments supporting the viewpoint.

Those who advocate for the positives of computer games often claim that they develop children’s strategic thinking. This perspective is often based on the fact that children commonly need to solve problematic situation to go further in the games. For example, while playing Rome Total war, a simulator of an emperor, children need to learn proper financial budgeting in order to afford to expand army and foster the infrastructures in the cities. Although this argument has some merit, it fails to consider that concerns in games hardly simulate real life situations, which make applications of acquired skills rather limited.

In contrast, I would argue that video gaming has considerably negative impact on children’s academic performance. One reason for this is that children tend to expend immense amount of time on playing computer games, thus, there is little room for studies. For instance, playing Clash of Clans, a popular strategic multiplayer, has no end in game progress, which in result turns into an endless game with hours spent of the progress. Therefore, it is evident that children have little time remaining for their education.

Furthermore, excessive gaming may result in worsening social skills. This can be seen in shorter in-person interactions among young people since most time is devoted to virtual communication. As a result, young people struggle to demonstrate appropriate communication skills that are vitally important in their future. This reinforces the argument that computer games are rather negative trend for young people.

In conclusion, although video gaming may seem positive regarding development of strategic skills, I remain of the opinion that children and young people negatively affect their education and social skills by playing computer games.