Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. what are the advantages and disadvantages of children playing computer games?

Nowadays, many children and youngsters are playing video games in an excessive amount, which caused considerable concern among experts. Although this trend has advantages such as better cognitive skills and enjoyment, isolating from society and associated health problems are the disadvantages.

To begin with, the main advantage of playing computer games is that it fosters problem-solving and visualizing skills. To elaborate these online games like action, puzzle, and strategy games require planning the player’s action to win the game as well as enhancing teamwork skills in an online environment. For example, according to a recent study among children, those who usually play strategic games have shown better problem-solving skills than those who prefer not to play. Additionally, there are numerous free options that children can choose to play, offering both amusable and educational choices.

On the other hand, those activities also have disadvantages such as social isolation and prolonged sitting time, causing obesity, blurred vision, and muscle weakness. The main cause is that those games usually lead to game addiction because companies receive their venue from advertisements and their players’ subscriptions. For example, in the last 10 years, the number of people who suffered from obesity and eye deterioration has increased significantly by 50 percent mostly because of excessive usage of screen time and lack of exercise. Therefore, youngsters should be encouraged to play for limited hours and actively exercise to protect their overall health, which is the most effective solution.

To conclude, computer games have become so popular in this modern world, that causing significant concern among doctors about children’s health. However, some games foster abilities, such as problem-solving and collaboration, but its disadvantages of causing screen addiction and health issues outweigh the merits