Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the possible reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is said that a lot of families stopped looking after their elderly people and chose to leave them in care homes or nursing homes. It happens because the more a person gets older the harder and more stressful it is to take care of them. I think that one of the advantage is olds would have a chance to have more communication with same aged people. Disadvantage is that they would feel abandoned by their family.

Many old people struggle with bad memory or grumpiness as they get older. It causes a lot of arguments between them and their relatives, thus it may be very complicated for younger people to treat them properly. Also, some elderlies suffer from Alzheimer, which requires constant nursing and their children might not always have enough patience or free time due to their own lives. As a result, they end up putting their parents or grandparents into specialist centres.

However, there are some benefits of such trend is that it could be a good option for old people to meet others at their age, have a better communication and might not feel out of place as they were with their family. Moreover, care homes provide a lot of interesting activities among old people, such as playing chess or do some exercises. Therefore, there are number of specialists looking after them, tracking their state of health and giving a scheduled meal. Nevertheless, sending their olds to special homes has some drawbacks. No matter how good they are treated in such places, elderly people need a presence of their family. Most of them fall into depression because of being separated from home. Spending time with their relatives makes them needful and even positively influence on their health.

In conclusion, putting elderly people in nursing homes happens because of their mental illnesses or not getting on well with their family. However, advantages and disadvantages of this go together and people choose what is comfortable for them.