Many employees can now do their work from home using modern technology. However, this change may only benefit workers, not the employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern life, the advent of modern equipment has provided facilities for a shift in work dynamic, allowing individuals the opportunity to perform their duties from the comfort of their home. However, it is argued that it may be exclusively advantageous for the workers, not the employers. In this essay, I firmly disagree with the standpoint that this change is mutually beneficial for employees and employers.

On the one hand, there are several explanations for employees working from home. One primary advantage for workers is the flexibility and work-life balance that remote work offers. To illustrate, they can conserve time and money such as public transportation, utilities and accommodation fees to meet their demands and create a suitable space for individuals that the choice of remote work are more likely to be influenced by the worker’s individual characteristic. This leads to higher productivity and job satisfaction. Furthermore, significant benefits of remote work enhance healthy lifestyles. To demonstrate, individuals offer the opportunity to prepare nutrient meals and engage in physical activities, especially for married people and autonomy to manage their schedule and work environment, leading to decreasing stress levels and mental health problems such as exhaustion. For example, in the Covid-19 pandemic, many workers handle a significant workload to meet financial needs and accumulate work experience during stay home, which leads to a new opportunity with a higher salary through cater supervisor’s demand.

On the other hand, allowing staff to telecommute may positively affect employers in various ways. One significant advantage is the reduction in overhead cost. To explain, with fewer employees in the office, there is a decreased need for large office spaces, leading to lower rent expense. Moreover, by embracing remote work, companies can seek deep potential talent and this is no longer limited by geography. This leads to the recruitment of diverse workers and high specialised skills from several countries, enhancing the overall quality of the workforce.

In conclusion, the reasons mentioned above indicate that the shift toward remote working is facilitated by modern technology for workers. While workers may relish more convenience, flexibility and balance, it is possible that employers would decrease cost for office spaces and find prospective talent pools.