Many famous athletes advertise different products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

It has been prevalent for popular sportsmen to endorse various produce. While this advertisement may bring about potential merits, varied items present a few drawbacks. To begin with, there are advantages of goods which are introduced by well-known athletes: boosting sales and brand recognition for companies. To be specific, when it comes to economic improvement in a beverage industry like Pepsi, a renowned football player Messi shows up with a can of Pepsi during commercial break, indicating this drink can trigger energy. Consequently, fans of Lionel Messi are encouraged to buy and drink permanently during watching football matches or having dinner with families, thus, the whole process can cause high amount of money flowing to the Pepsi Company. Additionally, there is not just financial gain here but also newly established companies benefit increased brand recognition. As a Clear shampoo is familiar and visible in the market and seen sales boost among costumers due to a football player Renaldo’s endorsement.

Conversely, even income from advertising comes continuously; one thing that might thread the reputation of both official Pepsi Company and that celebrity is counterfeit of Pepsi. Individuals who are not experts to recognize commodity between original versions and fake ones, may be discouraged to purchase a bottle of Pepsi and do not believe in their idol anymore. Famous sportspeople like Messi could lose his loyal fans and that Pepsi manufacturer might face financial difficulties. Despite this, a person who introduces a new product to audiences in TV does not often utilize it or try it once; however heshe is not aware of harm related to people health. In other words, a newly produced item such as Clear can be a reason for intensifying allergy or for hair loss. After that, people consider advertisers as a deceiver which is a main factor for adverse affect in reputation of both manufacturers and athletes

In conclusion, sportsmen endorsement may motive economy of that company and be recognizable in short term of time, but because of possibility of public deceit, bad reputation and detrimental health affect on people, there might be those disadvantages.