Many governments are now investing heavily in renewable energy. However, some people argue that this money would be better spent on improving existing energy infrastructure.

It is true that governments from different nations outlay a colossal amount of money on renewable energy such as tidal power and nuclear energy. While numerous people believe that it is better used to enhance the quality of energy infrastructure which exists in contemporary society. In my point of view, although maintaining and enhancing these extant energy facilities may be a viable approach, the public still have to put their eyes on the future.

Those people suggest that the state should fund improvements to the energy setting up, including electric power stations, value the effectiveness and the sustainability of energy. Many power grids and conventional power plants have been in operation for many decades, suffering from ageing equipment and considerable energy loss during transmission. If the aged machines are left unrepaired, even newly-generated energy cannot be delivered efficiently to households and businesses. Furthermore, enhancing the quality of these facilities can reduce the risk of sudden blackouts. Therefore, practical improvements to repair the systems bring an immediate benefit to the public.

On the other hand, governments from around the world have poured substantial funds into renewable energy. This action is critical for dealing with global environmental challenges. Fossil fuels based energy contributes heavily to greenhouse gases emissions and climate change. By developing wind, tidal and solar energy, nations can reduce the overall emissions of those harmful gases in order to protect the natural environment. Although building up a clean power system costs a lot in the initial stages, costs are gradually falling. In the long run, clean energy will be delivered to future generations, eco-friendly will be generated, which cannot be achieved by repairing old infrastructure.

In conclusion, spending on current energy systems solves the short term problems of operation, but I reckon governments ought to prioritize renewable energy investment. Helping society move away from fossil fuels and embrace a sustainable future.