Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In most countries, the government believes that economic progress is its main goal, while other people argue that other types of progress are as important as that for a country.

It’s true that economic progress is essential for a country because it is mainly thanks to it that we can have many benefits and do many activities offered by the state. I think that economic problems are at the base of all other problems, such as poor life quality, bad healthcare, lack of good public transport and low tourism. As a result, economic progress should always be in the first place. The consequences become harmful only if governments then act only for their own interests and not for the population’s benefits.

On the other hand, other types of progress are also paramount for the development of a country. School education and healthcare are the two most important aspects to improve constantly. Subsequently, a good government should take care of the working situation of its population, offering them new opportunities and satisfactory jobs, especially for young people, who will be our future. Furthermore, tourism is another type of progress very important for each country but, before needing to deal with the public transport. All these goals mentioned represent a source of wealth for the population.

From my point of view, these last projects represent the springboard towards economic progress and so, with a well-managed organization, a government could make its country very strong above any aspect, keeping economic progress at the top consequently.