Many historical sites and museums are mainly visited by tourists instead of locals, what are the causes of this and give solutions.

Nowadays, people argue that many historical sites and museums have been disappointed with the lack of local visitors, attracting only tourists. In my point of view, I think the main reason for the lack of interest in historical destinations is because local people have become familiar with those landmarks. To adress this, I believe that the government should ultilize social media platforms to promote public relations of historical sites.

To begin with, the primary reason is the lack of novelty locals, who have experienced tourist attractions several times so far. Many locals admitted that those historical places hardly offer any significant changes from time to time, so there is no need to visit them again. Unlike tourists, who find these museums are worthy for exploring. For example, it was written by a journalist that only a few residents of Hanoi had been to the Opera House of Hanoi. Addtionally, it is a fact that humans prefer learning something new, engaging and outside of their hometown, rather than discovering heritage sites of them own, especially, the youngsters, who tend to spent their budget on travelling abroad. Therefore, the reputation loss of local tourist attractions has become nothing new among the locals.

However there are some certain solutions to solve this. Firstly, the government should promote advertising local sites via social media platforms, which are able to attract the younger generation. Not only exibihiting cultures in traditional ways, uploading videos on Youtube, Facebook or Tiktok or applying modern technologies to marketing heritage sites should not be underestimated. For example, the media team of the Hoa Lo Prison has created plenty of funny contents, which integrates many historical knowledges, followed by hundred of people on Facebook. Moreover, another possible solution is promoting campaigns such as entrance fee discount during national holidays, enabling inhabitants revisit local landmarks more frequently. Therfore, not only the rise of reputation but also the revenue from domestic tourists could be boost up.

In conclusion, the locals may not be fascinated in tourist attractions of their country because they are not aware of the benefits as well as the values it can bring. However, the government should focus more on advertising historical sites on the Internet