many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Many statistics show how most criminals will probably commit another crime after being imprisoned in the past. This is mainly due to the critical financial conditions that surround these people. There are a few solutions which may be implemented in order to solve this problem.

To begin with, offenders are principally driven by desperate economic needs. Despite being unethical, breaking the law become necessary and understandable once there’s no alternative. Matter of fact, most of the people who go back and forth from prison are guilty of simple crimes. For instance, drug dealing or little thefts. Furthermore, they usually come from difficult neighborhoods, where public assistance is totally absent. As a result, taking part into criminal activities becomes the only way out.

Although it’s a quite complex issue, several solutions might be considered. Firstly, by dealing with the problem at its root, which is the dramatic situation of certain places. Increasing employment and offering public help may not have a drastic impact immediately, but it will help to gradually reduce criminality rates in the future. Also, another solution might be to change the ratio which stands behind prisons, from punishment to social education. For example, formation courses of any topic can light a spark of hope within prisoners, enlightened by the possibility to start a new life after their sentence. Not only this solution it’s a deterrent to commit further felony, but also leads to the creation of new professionals which add up to society’s workforce.

Overall, recidivism is a significant issue that still needs to be addressed in modern society. Investing on education for prisoners represent a great response. However, if large poor fractions of the population will be left alone by public authorities, this problem will persist for a long time.