Many parents choose to teach their children at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the benefits of homeschooling outweigh its drawbacks?

It is often argued that there is a tendency that parents prefer homeschooling to sending them to school. From my perspective, the benefits of the issue are greater than drawbacks since students can focus on their goals more efficiently.

To begin with, I accept that educating children at school helps them to develop skills that they cannot gain from home schooling. First of all, they can cultivate social skills. This means that children can learn about how to treat situations properly where they are struggling with other people. For example, in my case, I had trouble with my friend when I was in secondary school due to group work. When we completed the work, I had some complaints since his criterion was different from mine. Therefore, we resolved the situation by discussion and made a deal since his opinion was more reasonable than mine. As a result, I was able to learn about how to resolve conflicts such as listening to others’ opinions well. Also, schools can provide well-organized curriculum to students. This means that students can learn about various subjects such as mathematics and physical education regardless of their interests, so they can gain many kinds of knowledge.

On the other hand, I am convinced that home schooling can help students focus on their goals more easily. First of all, they can spend their time more efficiently to achieve their goals. This means that schools let students do various activities including participating in clubs and volunteering and it can be a waste of time. For example, Korean students who want to enter medical school tend to quit secondary school to prepare for the Korean Scholastic Aptitude Test (K-SAT). This is because students do not want to waste their time, taking classes that are not related to the test. Therefore, they organize their curriculum themselves and follow them by taking online lessons. As a result, the number of Korean medical students who received homeschooling has doubled in recent years. Moreover, home schooling can make students have good mental health. This means that students can struggle with hard situations at school such as bullying and competing with their friends excessively, so they can have no stress from those situations.

In conclusion, home schooling makes students achieve their goal more easily and can get emotional stabilization.