Many peoole work long hours, leaving little time for leisure. What are the causes, and how can this situation be improved?

In this industrialized world, a lot of individuals almost have no spare time due to their obligation to work longer than before. One of the reasons for extended office hours is the increased job competition and the solution to adress this problem is stricter labor laws, futhermore, promothing work-life balance culture.

The rise in the rivalry work environment has been obvious in many sectors. In today’s global economy, companies demand higher productivity, often leading employees to work extra hours to stay competitive and expected them to go beyond their standart working hours to meet deadlines. Most of time workers work overtime to secure their poitions discourages them from taking time off, moreover leadng to an unhealty professional life. According to a survey examined by BPS Indonesia, the majority of workers in small companies in the suburbs of Jakarta, often work overtime and get unpaid due to unrestricted labor regulations and the lack of balance between work and personal life.

To come up with effective solutions, firstly, governments should enforce maximum working hours and ensure workers get proper breaks and vowed wages on their overtime shifts. Companies often seem more loyal when it comes to authority policies, due to the penalty they might have to pay if abolish it. Secondly, to foster the work-life balance habit, employers should encourage their employees to take their day off on vacation and avoid working outside office hours. For example, many staff of the Big 3 offices in Jakarta, are facilitated to go on company trip every 3 moths.

In conclusion, prolonged working hours is resulted by the rose in competicy in job market, however, to deal with this issue, the government have to restricted the regulations regarding employment.