Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school. Some people believe that this is a negative development while others think there are some benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In todays modern society, people hold differing views about travelling more to workplace or educational establishments. While some believe that spending an increasing amount of time traveling to work or school has adverse developments, others argue that granting long durations to workplaces or school by traveling has some advantages. This essay will discuss both perspectives before presenting my own opinion.

On the one hand, supporters of the first view argue that an increasing amount of traveling leads to negative aspects be it to workplace or to fulfil educational needs. This is mainly because it leads to physical and mental exhaustion and some studies showed a significant reduction in time for personal growth and activities. As a result, there is a long term decline in well-being and life satisfaction. For example, office workers spend 2-3 hours commuting daily which gives limited time for family or to rest.

On the other hand, those who oppose this view believe that commuting for longer durations has some good advantages. They claim that it allows people to attend better schools or work in top firms which can lead to a good quality education and securing financial resources for themselves as well as for their family. For example, rural students commute to different cities in prestigious institutions for higher-quality education. Moreover, this improves long-term career prospects and academic outcomes.

In my opinion, the negative aspects outweigh the positives. This is because stress, exhaustion and loss of personal time associated with long commutes significantly impacts individuals’ quality of life. Although some may find ways to utilize their commuting time into some productivity but overall trend of longer travel times often leads to more harm than good.

In conclusion, while some supports the idea that commuting longer brings certain lifestlye changes, but I firmly believe that this trend is more harmful as it results in time wastage, emotional exhaustion and a significant drop in quality of life.