Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

More and more employment chooses to work for longer hours and later retirement. This fact can be caused by several different reasons but already has a massive impact on people’s lives.

Financial burden may be the main motivation for workers to work longer per day when the average expenditures keep getting higher. People have to spend more money to rent a house, pay for energy, afford food and other basic needs. Beside that, pressure to be successful or at least keeping up with the peers is also a reason that made them want to strive harder in work. Especially with the young generation, who achieve the progressive mind of thinking that provokes them to assert their abilities and to be financially independent from an early age. That explains why adolescents are the leader of the working for longer hours tendency. On the other hand, older generations choose a later retirement most due to their wealthier health, which made them still able to apply for a job.

Despite the fact that people can actually earn more money, social experiences and self-statifition, this trend has many impacts on their health. A lot of young employees admitted that they are exhausted because they spend too much time in their office, lacking private space for their friends, family and even themselves. Most of them choose to relax after a long and hard working day by fast entertaining content such as tiktok, which makes them more stressed and frustrated instead. Being stuck with a hustle and bustle circle also makes them neglect their health’s urgent warning till they can stand no more. For instance, a blizzard but unsurprisingly called laying down and doing nothing was extremely popular in China a few months ago. The young people express that they are too tired and want to take a chance to relieve every concern, to just lay and breathe to relax.

In conclusion, the fast development of our society and economy nowadays make us need to run faster and try harder to chase a good life, but the health problem still needs to be put at the first place all over anything else. The balance and harmony of lifestyle is the key.