Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

It is a common practice that working longer hours is becoming more and more popular nowadays among people. This essay will first outline several underlying causes of this phenomenon before discussing its consequences.

There are two main reasons for this trend. The first reason that can be put forward is that it might be beneficial for the financial situation of employees, as working overtime could give them more opportunities to earn extra money. For instance, in Viet Nam, those who work longer hours during holidays can receive up to 150% of their regular wage for that day. Thus, this helps them to earn more money to have a higher quality of life. Another reason is that it can play an important role in improving their career prospects, as it would offer them opportunities for promotion. This is because they acquire more important skills, and enhance their work’s results, which can help them earn the trust of leaders. Hence, they can enjoy success in their working life and have a great sense of achievement, and this also helps to improve people’s quality of life.

However, there are several drawbacks of this trend. One drawback is that it might negatively impact the interpersonal relationships of people, as this could prevent them from having time with others such as their friends, or family members. This is because they spend too much time on their work, so they might not have enough time to take care of their family. As a result, this could make people suffer from mental health problems such as loneliness, isolation, or worsening their families’ bonds. This is also compounded by the fact that it can create an adverse bearing on the physical health of employees, since this could cause various health problems. For instance, the most popular health issues resulting from this are getting stressed and suffering from headaches because they have to work hard. Therefore, this might lead to lower productivity, hindering the growth of their company.

In conclusion, although there are legitimate reasons for this trend, several effects could be harmful to employees.