Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Examination is very important in education because of evaluating students classes, ranks, and studying abilities. Nowadays, many people think that the traditional examinations are not suitable in assessing educational achievement.

The formal ‘pen and paper’ testing wastes lots of resources including paper, time, and fees. First of all, to have an exam in this way, the examiners have to print large amount of tests and answer sheets and students have to pay a fee for this waste. Next, they have spend time to supervise students, score, and type the marks on mark sheets. In students’ aspect, they have to waste time to write their answers in the sheet. And then, they have to face a risk of broken pens, misundertanding words, or lack of time if they write too slow. Both students and teachers have their problems with traditional testing.

In the contrast, in my view, ‘pen and paper’ testing can assess exactly and equally students achievements. In basis, the examination put all students in the same environment – limit time, limit question, and doing with the same testing paper. In these limit situations, the students just base on their knowledge, abilities, and skills to comlete the test. And of course, students with slower or careless preparing will get bad marks. To prevent cheating, the examiners have to supervise students during the examination and purnish who cheating.

Overall, traditional testing has its way to assess students’ achievements in education and ensure the equality in the examination by order the limit to students.