Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the years, as every field of education becoming more and more developed. While this method has been the standard for generations, many people debate over this frequent topic of discussion that whether it is still the best way to asses educational achievement. From my perspective, pen and paper exams are not the most effective way for assessing the diverse skills of students.

One of the most major drawbacks of pen and paper exams is that they do not consider different ways of learning. While some students are used to be good at traditional pen and paper exams, others may struggle to express their knowledge in written form. For instance, students with excellent communication skills and creative thinking capabilities may not perform well in writing exams under pressure even though they comprehend the subject.

Moreover, the quality of knowledge should also be taken into consideration. In most cases, students try to recall a lot information such as facts, formulas or dates, and they memorize them than comprehending. This approach can lead students to cram for exams rather than understand the meaning. This limits the ability of students to develop their creative thinking and analytical skills.

Despite the drawbacks, pen and paper exams also have some advantages. One of the key benefit is the pressure of timed exams can help students to develop their skills related to time managemet and develop the ability work under constant stress, which are valuable in some real life situations.

In conclusion, while pen and paper exams provide a traditional standard method to asses students, they have numerous drawbacks, such as focusing on memorizing and not being suitable for different students with various learning styles.