many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

In many people’s view, today’s examinations are not the most effective way to evaluate the educational success of students, a statement I strongly agree with. I firmly believe that the current approach should be replaced by another method as soon as possible due to numerous reasons.

Firstly, the conventional evaluating system is quite obsolete for today’s world. Society is in the era of technology, which affects people’s habits and alters their senses. Therefore, technologic developments should be implemented in examinations by replacing the classic items such as paper and pen. Thus, this change would be beneficial for today’s children because they are mostly spending their time on technologic devices. For example, in European countries, the governments have started to provide computer-based exams for college students, and according to the recent research, the grades of university students have significantly increased in those states.

However, besides the exam techniques, I firmly believe that this concept should not exist at all. This is because individuals’ future should not be just dependent on an exam that lasts two or three hours. Instead, if the assessing becomes like a process instead of an one-time chance, this would be more logical and healthy. Hence, people’s overall progress would be observed better, which would have some merits for society as well. For instance, in a minority of high schools, children’s performance in class and their attendance are taken into consideration when their final grades are calculated. Consequently, it is observed that this situation has contributed to the accuracy of grading in all schools that are using this system.

In conclusion, a number of people claim that the regular examination method that uses a piece of paper and a pen is not suitable to assess students. From my perspective, if there has to be a similar way, they should try to offer technologic options for exams. However, I hold the belief that this approach should be abandoned due to the aforementioned reasons.