Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

With the rise of unlawful acts comes the changes in criminal law in many states. Nowadays, there is an ongoing discussion about whether it is worth to enact a fixed punishment for all crimes . While it could be beneficial in many ways, there are some drawbacks and negative effects, too.

On the one hand,one clear advantage is that one permanent punishment saves time. In today’s fast-paced world, people are extremely limited in time due to their own affairs, full work schedules, and family responsibilities. Additionally, if the fixed punishment is too strict, it will definitely help to prevent new violations of the law and reduce the workload of courts and police in the near future.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of this opinion cannot be overlooked. It is thought by many lawyers that the punishment for both murder and petty theft cannot be equivalent at all. Without a doubt, as a Bachelor of Law, I would like to add that a lot depends on the degree of guilt, adult or minor and in what state the crime was committed. For instance, in Ukraine sanctions for pregnant women and individuals with mental disorders are much simpler.

In conclusion, while some citizens opine that a certain penalty for all types of crime could be an ideal decision due to an overwhelming style of life, it also brings huge downsides such as inequality among different segments of the population and the degree of a crime. To sum up, a balance should exist during the sentencing process.