Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s globalized world, majority of people consider that the best of way of learning any language is travelling rather than staying at their hometowns. In my opinion, benefits of studying language abroad far outweigh its drawbacks.

There are clear disadvantages to this tendency.Chief among them is financial cost. While it seems far more beneficial on the surface, travelling overseas frequently may bring its economic challenges with it, such as accomodation and commuting costs, and living expenses will naturally put financial pressure on individuals. Another significant disadvantage is connected to a lack of safety. Obviously, it could be difficult to stay in a foreign nation for a long time may pose a threat to tourists due to cultural diversity. For example, most travellers face challenges abroad while trying to explain themselves to native people due to differences in words and their meanings.

Despite these arguments, the upsides of learning language while travelling sound more compelling to me. One major advantage would be immersing yourself in a targeted language. That is to say, it is claimed that spending an excessive amount of time with the language you would like to learn is the best way to practice and exceed at it. It is because, being around the natives ease the learning process, enforcing non-natives to make contacts on their daily lives with people around them. More importantly, in the fast-paced world majority of people aim to study everything instantly. That is why, experiences mentioned above could be time-consuming for those trying to learn a languge in a short period. For instance, there are a lot of worldly-known companies organizing summer camps for non-natives in order to learn foreign languages. That is considered the best way for picking up any language.

In conclusion, although travelling abroad can be expensive and less secure, learners can overcome these issues stand to gain experiences and time. Therefore, in my view aspects of learning communication in foreign countries more than make up for any potential issues.