Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

The majority of individuals think that learning a new language through travelling abroad is far more effective than studying it in one’s homeland. Although it might be challenging at first to build a foundation in an immersive environment, this experience can significantly reduce long-term tuition costs, and I believe this advantage far outweighs the disadvantage.

One downside of studying abroad is that people may struggle to establish the basics of a foreign language. This is because native speakers communicate fluently and naturally, making it difficult for beginners to follow conversations without a solid foundation. Without a rudimentary understanding, learners may feel overwhelmed and discouraged. For instance, many spoken languages, such as English or Spanish, differ from their textbooks versions in pronunciation, slang, and everyday usage. However, I believe that such a challenge can stimulate people to adapt quickly and facilitate the learning process through real-world exposure.

On the positive side, learning a new language overseas can significantly cut costs of tuition. Nowadays, it is extremely expensive to enroll in private language courses which require substantial monthly payments. Consequently, it places a great financial burden on families over time. For example, in Kazakhstan, in order to gain proficiency in a particular language, people have to spend about 200000-300000 tenge on courses depending on the program duration. Thereby, I believe that learning a language abroad can create a great advantage for a society as a whole because their children will have the opportunity to acquire language skills naturally, simply by engaging in daily interactions, which eliminates the need for expensive tuition. This approach enables parents to allocate money to other aspects of their lives.

To conclude, although learning a new language abroad may initially present difficulties with understanding the fundamental aspects of a language due to the complex and fast speech of native speakers, I believe this downside is greatly outweighed by the upside that this practice helps parents considerably diminish tuition expenses.