Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their hometown. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In contemporary world, in term of studying second language students prefer moving to foreign country rather than doing it in motherland. I believe that this trend has as positives and drawbacks too.

Personally, I believe advantages of this trend outweigh its drawbacks. Firstly, starting with positive sides of studying second language in another country may be followed by learning new culture, history with native speakers daily in real-life conversations, which is one of the best ways on investigating it. Also, training additional language on its land will lead to a person’s horizons broadening and making new friends, which help to understand language deeply and in natural way. Despite, we cannot ignore expensiveness of living abroad without any support on relatives. However, students can take part-time job as well and start dealing with their own problems independently by what they become more self-standing.

Nevertheless, we should take into the consideration obvious problems of learning foreign language abroad. One of them, tuition fees and costs of living can be relatively high. And of course in developed countries such as England, Australia where they can do it not every learner can afford. Next, is by being far from hometown in hope increasing their second language they may miss some instrumental events in their family members life which is also may follow delving in stress and feel homesickness. Naturally, it effect unfortunate on their study.

To sum up, learning new language has some advantages such as making new friends, being independent. And, of course improve their studying in natural way. Despite this, I believe that disadvantages like not participating in some events in motherland and troubles with tuition fees cannot cross out all advantages of investigating knowledge for the best future.