Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their hometown. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Today most people prefer to travel overseas to learn a new language instead of studying in their hometown. There are certain benefits of learning a foreign language abroad, however, the disadvantages are also worth considering. Both sides will be discussed in this essay.

Learning any language in the country, where the main proportion of the population speaks in that language is beneficial. Many experts, who are professionals in methodology recommend studying a foreign language around native speakers, as this method is significant for the improvement of speaking and listening skills. It is not challenging for individuals to learn certain accents and correct pronunciation forms who learn a particular language abroad. Studying a new language overseas is also more effective and faster. For example, there was an experiment in Russia about 20 university students, who learned the German language in Russia and Germany. However, 50% of learners were more successful at learning German, who traveled to Germany for 1 year more than others, who studied that language in Russia with various materials.

On the other hand, traveling to another country to learn its language can be tough for some people, as some cannot afford it. Today, traveling from one country to another is quite expensive, and for this reason, most learners cannot pay for the tickets and living costs of a particular country. Moreover, adaptation process is one of the main difficulties of moving another state and studying something new and trying to explore various cultures during this period is tough. For instance, according to the research of American Airlines, it takes 6 months to adapt new place, especially if the hours of the day are not appropriate with the hometown.

In conclusion, many students prefer to travel abroad to study a foreign language rather that to stay in their own country. This trend is effective to learn new language well, while living costs and adaptation process can be a problem for learners.